Call for Nominations

Northwestern University's International Institute for Nanotechnology is now accepting nominations for two prestigious international prizes: the $250,000 Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine and the $10,000 Kabiller Young Investigator Award.

Nominations are open until May 17, 2021. 

The Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine is the world’s largest monetary award for outstanding achievement in nanomedicine. It recognizes researchers who have made significant, career-long contributions to the field of nanotechnology and its application to medicine and biology. 

The Kabiller Young Investigator Award is given to emerging researchers who have made recent groundbreaking discoveries with the potential to make a lasting impact in nanoscience and nanomedicine. There is no age limit for this award.

These awards were made possible through the generosity of Northwestern trustee and alumnus David G. Kabiller. To learn more about the awards and past recipients, visit

Selection Process

Nominations will be reviewed and recipients will be chosen by a selection committee made up of global experts in nanotechnology. Recipients will be announced prior to the annual symposium of the International Institute for Nanotechnology on Nov. 4, 2021. The symposium will feature talks by both recipients.

Recipients may be affiliated with institutions in the U.S. or worldwide, including Northwestern University. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Nomination Package

A complete nomination package will include the following components:

  • Letter of nomination (one page)
  • CV of nominee
  • Up to 5 relevant publications
  • Two additional letters of support
Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine